Where the Crawdads Sing
- 23%

Where the Crawdads Sing

Reese's Book Club (A Novel)

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)

23% sparen

9,19 € UVP 12,00 €

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Hörbuch

Hörbuch

25,99 €

Where the Crawdads Sing

Ebenfalls verfügbar als:

Hörbuch

Hörbuch

ab 25,99 €
Gebundenes Buch

Gebundenes Buch

ab 15,99 €
Taschenbuch

Taschenbuch

ab 8,99 €
eBook

eBook

ab 5,99 €

Beschreibung

Details

Verkaufsrang

2519

Einband

Taschenbuch

Erscheinungsdatum

30.03.2021

Verlag

Penguin LLC US

Seitenzahl

400

Beschreibung

Rezension

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders and dangers of her private world. The New York Times Book Review

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. People

This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver. Bustle

A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It s clear she s from this place the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely. Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don t Let s Go to the Dogs Tonight

Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. Entertainment Weekly

This wonderful novel has a bit of everything mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina. Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

Delia Owen s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit. Real Simple

Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine. Publishers Weekly

The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut. Southern Living

A nature-infused romance with a killer twist. Refinery29

Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It s the first novel in a long time that made me cry. Kristin Hannah, author of The Great Alone and The Nightingale

Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives. Vanity Fair

Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures. Booklist

This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing. AARP 

This haunting tale captivates every bit as much for its crime drama elements as for the humanity at its core. Mystery & Suspense Magazine

Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time. ShelfAwareness

With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut! Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud. Augusta Chronicle

Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls. David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

Details

Verkaufsrang

2519

Einband

Taschenbuch

Erscheinungsdatum

30.03.2021

Verlag

Penguin LLC US

Seitenzahl

400

Maße (L/B/H)

20,7/13,6/2,4 cm

Gewicht

298 g

Sprache

Englisch

ISBN

978-0-7352-1910-6

Unsere Kundinnen und Kunden meinen

4.5

14 Bewertungen

Informationen zu Bewertungen

Zur Abgabe einer Bewertung ist eine Anmeldung im Konto notwendig. Die Authentizität der Bewertungen wird von uns nicht überprüft. Wir behalten uns vor, Bewertungstexte, die unseren Richtlinien widersprechen, entsprechend zu kürzen oder zu löschen.

5 Sterne

4 Sterne

3 Sterne

(0)

2 Sterne

(0)

1 Sterne

Wunderschöne Mischung aus Coming-of-age-Roman, Krimi, Liebesgeschichte und Naturbeschreibung

Bewertung am 25.06.2022

Bewertungsnummer: 1736178

Bewertet: Buch (Taschenbuch)

Eigentlich ist bereits alles über dieses großartige Buch gesagt und geschrieben worden. Eine schmerzhafte und zeitgleich wunderschöne Mischung aus Coming-of-age-Roman, Krimi, Liebesgeschichte und Naturbeschreibung. Als im Jahre 1969 der Leichnam von Chase Andrews gefunden wird, wird das "Marsh Girl" Kya Clark des Mordes verdächtigt. Kya war schon immer die "andersartige" Außenseiterin, isoliert in der Natur, die ihr Zuhause ist. Wer es noch nicht gelesen hat, sollte es unbedingt nachholen.
Melden

Wunderschöne Mischung aus Coming-of-age-Roman, Krimi, Liebesgeschichte und Naturbeschreibung

Bewertung am 25.06.2022
Bewertungsnummer: 1736178
Bewertet: Buch (Taschenbuch)

Eigentlich ist bereits alles über dieses großartige Buch gesagt und geschrieben worden. Eine schmerzhafte und zeitgleich wunderschöne Mischung aus Coming-of-age-Roman, Krimi, Liebesgeschichte und Naturbeschreibung. Als im Jahre 1969 der Leichnam von Chase Andrews gefunden wird, wird das "Marsh Girl" Kya Clark des Mordes verdächtigt. Kya war schon immer die "andersartige" Außenseiterin, isoliert in der Natur, die ihr Zuhause ist. Wer es noch nicht gelesen hat, sollte es unbedingt nachholen.

Melden

Mitreissend

- aus - am 31.01.2023

Bewertungsnummer: 1870880

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

Zu Beginn ist es etwas schwer das Englisch zu verstehen doch man gewöhnt sich sehr schnell an die dialektischen Ausdrücke. Die Geschichte ist unglaublich gut geschrieben und spannend aufgebaut mit den zwei Handlungssträngen die sich dann treffen. Sehr viele Wendepunkte, sehr spannend und auch sehr viel Mitgefühl für Kya wird geweckt. Wirklich ein Top-Buch!!!
Melden

Mitreissend

- aus - am 31.01.2023
Bewertungsnummer: 1870880
Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

Zu Beginn ist es etwas schwer das Englisch zu verstehen doch man gewöhnt sich sehr schnell an die dialektischen Ausdrücke. Die Geschichte ist unglaublich gut geschrieben und spannend aufgebaut mit den zwei Handlungssträngen die sich dann treffen. Sehr viele Wendepunkte, sehr spannend und auch sehr viel Mitgefühl für Kya wird geweckt. Wirklich ein Top-Buch!!!

Melden

Unsere Kundinnen und Kunden meinen

Where the Crawdads Sing

von Delia Owens

4.5

0 Bewertungen filtern

Meinungen aus unserer Buchhandlung

Profilbild von Lea-Magdalena Reimer

Es ist ein Problem aufgetreten. Bitte laden Sie die Seite neu und versuchen es noch einmal.

Lea-Magdalena Reimer

Thalia Göttingen

Zum Portrait

5/5

What a ride!

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

"Where The Crawdads Sing" ist in jeder Hinsicht hervorragend. Die Autorin schafft es, von der ersten Seite an eine Spannung aufzubauen, welche den Leser bis zum Ende des Buches fesselt. Ich konnte das Buch nicht aus der Hand legen! Neben der dramatischen Haupthandlung sorgen die Beschreibungen des Marschlandes, sowie die Story um Protagonistin Kya für eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre. Eine Empfehlung für warme Sommerabende im Freien!
5/5

What a ride!

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

"Where The Crawdads Sing" ist in jeder Hinsicht hervorragend. Die Autorin schafft es, von der ersten Seite an eine Spannung aufzubauen, welche den Leser bis zum Ende des Buches fesselt. Ich konnte das Buch nicht aus der Hand legen! Neben der dramatischen Haupthandlung sorgen die Beschreibungen des Marschlandes, sowie die Story um Protagonistin Kya für eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre. Eine Empfehlung für warme Sommerabende im Freien!

Lea-Magdalena Reimer
  • Lea-Magdalena Reimer
  • Buchhändler*in

Es ist ein Problem aufgetreten. Bitte laden Sie die Seite neu und versuchen es noch einmal.

Profilbild von Linda Kirste

Es ist ein Problem aufgetreten. Bitte laden Sie die Seite neu und versuchen es noch einmal.

Linda Kirste

Thalia Dresden - Elbe Park

Zum Portrait

4/5

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

This is a very poetic story, heartbreaking but also somewhat hopeful. I liked how important nature was to the story, not only as a setting but also almost as a character. I loved the main character and her kindness and resilience. I enjoyed the mystery and the love story.
4/5

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

This is a very poetic story, heartbreaking but also somewhat hopeful. I liked how important nature was to the story, not only as a setting but also almost as a character. I loved the main character and her kindness and resilience. I enjoyed the mystery and the love story.

Linda Kirste
  • Linda Kirste
  • Buchhändler*in

Es ist ein Problem aufgetreten. Bitte laden Sie die Seite neu und versuchen es noch einmal.

Meinungen aus unserer Buchhandlung

Where the Crawdads Sing

von Delia Owens

0 Rezensionen filtern

Weitere Artikel finden Sie in

Die Leseprobe wird geladen.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing