Where the Crawdads Sing
- 25%

Where the Crawdads Sing

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)

25% sparen

9,69 € UVP 13,00 €

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Hörbuch

Hörbuch

24,99 €

Where the Crawdads Sing

Ebenfalls verfügbar als:

Gebundenes Buch

Gebundenes Buch

ab 19,99 €
Taschenbuch

Taschenbuch

ab 8,09 €
eBook

eBook

ab 6,49 €
Hörbuch

Hörbuch

ab 24,99 €

Beschreibung

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE—The #1 New York Times bestselling worldwide sensation with more than 12 million copies sold, hailed by The New York Times Book Review as “a painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature.”

For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life—until the unthinkable happens.

Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders and dangers of her private world. The New York Times Book Review

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. People

This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver. Bustle

A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It s clear she s from this place the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely. Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don t Let s Go to the Dogs Tonight

Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. Entertainment Weekly

This wonderful novel has a bit of everything mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina. Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

Delia Owen s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit. Real Simple

Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine. Publishers Weekly

The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut. Southern Living

A nature-infused romance with a killer twist. Refinery29

Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It s the first novel in a long time that made me cry. Kristin Hannah, author of The Great Alone and The Nightingale

Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives. Vanity Fair

Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures. Booklist

This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing. AARP 

This haunting tale captivates every bit as much for its crime drama elements as for the humanity at its core. Mystery & Suspense Magazine

Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time. ShelfAwareness

With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut! Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud. Augusta Chronicle

Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls. David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

Details

Verkaufsrang

1526

Einband

Taschenbuch

Erscheinungsdatum

30.03.2021

Verlag

Penguin LCC US

Seitenzahl

400

Beschreibung

Details

Verkaufsrang

1526

Einband

Taschenbuch

Erscheinungsdatum

30.03.2021

Verlag

Penguin LCC US

Seitenzahl

400

Maße (L/B/H)

20,7/13,6/2,4 cm

Gewicht

298 g

Sprache

Englisch

ISBN

978-0-7352-1910-6

Das meinen unsere Kund*innen

4.4

12 Bewertungen

Informationen zu Bewertungen

Zur Abgabe einer Bewertung ist eine Anmeldung im Kund*innenkonto notwendig. Die Authentizität der Bewertungen wird von uns nicht überprüft. Wir behalten uns vor, Bewertungstexte, die unseren Richtlinien widersprechen, entsprechend zu kürzen oder zu löschen.

5 Sterne

4 Sterne

3 Sterne

(0)

2 Sterne

(0)

1 Sterne

traurig und herzerwärmend

Bewertung am 29.08.2022

Bewertet: Buch (Taschenbuch)

Ich fand das Buch an sich sehr gut, es geschehen viele unerwartete Wendungen und ist auf eine Art traurig aber auch herzerwärmend, das Einzige was bei mir noch Fragen an die Autorin aufwirft ist das Ende.

traurig und herzerwärmend

Bewertung am 29.08.2022
Bewertet: Buch (Taschenbuch)

Ich fand das Buch an sich sehr gut, es geschehen viele unerwartete Wendungen und ist auf eine Art traurig aber auch herzerwärmend, das Einzige was bei mir noch Fragen an die Autorin aufwirft ist das Ende.

Great but …

Bewertung aus Petershagen am 26.08.2022

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

So beautiful, so exciting especially towards the ending, but I was a bit disappointed at the end … I already expected what would happen and exactly that happened. Still it’s a great book and I really recommend reading it!

Great but …

Bewertung aus Petershagen am 26.08.2022
Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

So beautiful, so exciting especially towards the ending, but I was a bit disappointed at the end … I already expected what would happen and exactly that happened. Still it’s a great book and I really recommend reading it!

Unsere Kund*innen meinen

Where the Crawdads Sing

von Delia Owens

4.4

0 Bewertungen filtern

Unsere Buch­händler*innen meinen

Profilbild von Linda Kirste

Es ist ein Problem aufgetreten. Bitte laden Sie die Seite neu und versuchen es noch einmal.

Linda Kirste

Thalia Dresden - Haus des Buches

Zum Portrait

4/5

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

This is a very poetic story, heartbreaking but also somewhat hopeful. I liked how important nature was to the story, not only as a setting but also almost as a character. I loved the main character and her kindness and resilience. I enjoyed the mystery and the love story.
4/5

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

This is a very poetic story, heartbreaking but also somewhat hopeful. I liked how important nature was to the story, not only as a setting but also almost as a character. I loved the main character and her kindness and resilience. I enjoyed the mystery and the love story.

Linda Kirste
  • Linda Kirste
  • Buchhändler*in

Es ist ein Problem aufgetreten. Bitte laden Sie die Seite neu und versuchen es noch einmal.

Profilbild von Verena Zimmermann

Es ist ein Problem aufgetreten. Bitte laden Sie die Seite neu und versuchen es noch einmal.

Verena Zimmermann

Thalia Nürnberg

Zum Portrait

5/5

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

An unique novel which is beautiful and sweet as well as rough and sad at the same time. The very realistic charakters as well as the great story make this book a must read. The perfect book for all drama fans and wildlife enthusiasts.
5/5

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

An unique novel which is beautiful and sweet as well as rough and sad at the same time. The very realistic charakters as well as the great story make this book a must read. The perfect book for all drama fans and wildlife enthusiasts.

Verena Zimmermann
  • Verena Zimmermann
  • Buchhändler*in

Es ist ein Problem aufgetreten. Bitte laden Sie die Seite neu und versuchen es noch einmal.

Unsere Buchhändler*innen meinen

Where the Crawdads Sing

von Delia Owens

0 Rezensionen filtern

Weitere Artikel finden Sie in

Die Leseprobe wird geladen.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing